Eddie The Eagle Edwards Interview

Enjoy Celebrity Radio’s Eddie The Eagle Edwards Interview….

Michael Edwards, better known as Eddie “The Eagle” Edwards, is a British skier who in 1988 became the first competitor to represent Great Britain in Olympic ski jumping.

At the time, Edwards was the British ski jumping record holder, the world number nine in amateur speed skiing and the stunt jumping world record holder.

Finishing last in the 70m and 90m events, he became famous as an example of a plucky underdog or ‘heroic failure’, and of perseverance and achievement without funding that represents the British bulldog spirit.

You can now get a free copy of the Happy Egg Company 2015 calendar Nice Pecks at www.thehappyeggs.co.uk

Here’s Eddie in conversation with Alex Belfield:

On 25 February 2012, Edwards appeared as a competitor on episode 2 of BBC1’s Let’s Dance for Sport Relief, 2012, and got through to the final on most public votes.

On 24 March 2012, Edwards appeared as a competitor on the first Winter Wipeout (Total Wipeout) celebrity special. He came first in each round and won the final by a comfortable margin, beating Tony Mortimer (formerly of pop group East 17) and Steven Arnold (Ashley Peacock in UK soap Coronation Street).

In January 2013, Edwards competed in the ITV celebrity diving programme Splash!. Previously involved in gymnastics, he was determined to master some difficult dives. He did an inward 1.5 somersault pike from 10 m in the semi-final. In the final he did a synchro dive with Tom Daley. He later became the winner, beating competitors Jake Canuso and Linda Barker by public vote.

In December 2013, Edwards competed unsuccessfully in the BBC quiz show “Eggheads” on a celebrity edition.

In January 2014, Edwards commentated on the Channel 4 The Jump TV programme,[19] where 12 famous people took part in winter sports. As part of each episode, Edwards jumped off the largest of three ski jumps which gives the series its name.

Interview recorded by Alex Belfield for Celebrity Radio 5th December 2014.